International Scholarships - Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program

Click here for a link to US Web Site for Detail  The following is an extract from this site:

The Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program, supports the education of collegiate accounting and criminal justice students around the globe.  In 2007 thirty $1,000 scholarships were awarded.


The Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship program was named after 2 members of the ACFE, Larry Jennings, CFE, CPA, 49; and Tracy Ritchie, CFE, CPA, 41; both of Houston, Texas. They were among 5  people fatally wounded in Karachi, Pakistan, in 1997. All 5were employees of Houston-based Union Texas Petroleum Holdings Inc. 

Surviving spouses Jacqueline Ritchie and Deborah Jennings are proud that their husbands' names are associated with the program, which was established in 1992. "I can't think of a more appropriate way to honor Larry and Tracy," said Mrs. Jennings.


ACFE Foundation scholarships are $1,000 US and include a one-year ACFE Student Associate membership. Scholarships will be awarded for the 2008-2009 academic year and will be paid directly to the student’s university.

To be eligible the applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student, currently enrolled full-time (12 semester hours undergraduate; 9 semester hours post-graduate, or equivalent per term) at an accredited four-year college or university (or equivalent) with a declared major or minor in accounting or criminal justice.

The following persons are not eligible for the Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship:

· Past winners of the scholarship

· Junior college, community college and high school students – including graduating seniors

Students who are related to any officer director or substantial contributor of ACFE Foundation, or to any member of the ACFE Foundation Scholarship Committee.

Application Deadline – April 18, 2008  Winners Announced – August 1, 2008
Scholarships Distributed – by August 31, 2008

To be considered for the award, applicant packets must be completed by April 18, 2008, and include all of the following items:

· Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Application

· A copy of official transcript(s), showing all completed college or university courses

· 3 letters of recommendation including at least one from a CFE or a local ACFE Chapter (required for U.S. and Canadian citizens only). Additional recommendations may come from advisors, faculty members or employers. For students outside the North American region, a letter from a professor in your major discipline may substitute the CFE letter if a student is unable to make contact with a CFE or an ACFE chapter.

· An original 250- 500 word essay explaining why the applicant deserves the scholarship and how fraud awareness will affect his or her professional career development

Students who wish to apply for a scholarship but who are not acquainted with a Certified Fraud Examiner should search the Local Chapter listing on our Web site or contact the ACFE to receive the name of a representative of the nearest local ACFE Chapter. It is the responsibility of the applicant to meet with an ACFE Chapter or with a Certified Fraud Examiner in person if possible (or by phone if necessary) to receive a recommendation.

Scholarships are awarded annually on the basis of:

· Overall academic achievement demonstrated by official transcripts

· Three letters of recommendation

· An original essay of 250 -500 words

The 2008-2009 scholarship winners will be notified by August 1, 2008.

The 2008-2009 scholarship checks will be mailed out by the end of August 2008.

Ritchie-Jennings Memorial

Scholarship Program